Parodying Putin’s Pretext (Post I wish I had written)

Matter Of Facts

The Crimea today, DC tomorrow!? The Crimea today, DC tomorrow!?

Christian Caryl writes to Vladimir Putin (with tongue firmly in cheek) to try and avail himself of the doctrine the president has propounded to justify the invasion of Crimea. If Russia can intervene anywhere to protect Russian speakers from any threat, however, negligible; Caryl wonders if the Putin might consider intervening to protect the Russophone population of his native Washington DC from an English speaking population that is “starting to get a bit uppity”?

It so happens that I speak your language. I started studying Russian in high school, and I’ve been studying it for years since then. Maybe I’m not entirely fluent, but I know enough to follow the news.

Which is why I was so thrilled to read the Kremlin’s statement about your March 1 phone call with President Obama: “Vladimir Putin stressed that in case of any further spread of violence to…

View original post 319 more words

Leave a Reply

